taylorshocks

Why I Don’t Watch Sports….

In Uncategorized on April 30, 2009 at 2:43 am

I will preface my post as such: No I am NOT a hippie with hairy armpits and Birks. I do shave and I have long retired my Birkenstocks. I do, however, have a few very large issues with American’s favorite past time activity.

7_350x470

I will also include the fact that I had at one point LOVED sports. Well, if you consider Tara Lipinski and Michelle Kwan’s elegant skating “a sport” which you should — then I will again say I used to like sports. There was passion, movement, and dedication. Think back to the Kerry Strug days when she was willing (and did) brake her ankle to win the Gold in the Olympics way back when.

1996_kerri_strug

Things have changed, completely, since then. Here are the reasons why I don’t watch sports any more:

1) I don’t understand how it is that fresh out of college football stars are signing 70 MILLION DOLLAR CONTRACTS. Yes, you can read plays well. Got it. But in reality, let’s be serious here for a minute. You don’t even come up with the plays do you? Hmmm no….  In addition, Neuro Scientists who spend their Friday AND Saturday nights formulating treatments for diseases couldn’t make even ….. .10% of a football star’s earnings (even if he/she came up with a cure for the Chicken Pox!)

2) I think most people enjoy watching sports for their own personal enjoyment. See here, I don’t even think it’s RELATED to the sport itself. What do you enjoy most about a baseball game let’s say? The over priced weenies and the over flowing plastic cups of Bud Light. Half way through the game and you’re three sheets to the wind as is! Baseball? Who cares about that — let’s keep drinkin’!

beer-sausage-fenway

3) If you think about the time you spend WATCHING that Laker’s game in overtime… in reality you could be spending some of that time, learning how to perfect a skill yourself. In this economy, you can’t afford to sit and watch others flaunt THEIR skills. Get off your lazy beer guzzling ass and learn to play guitar or hey, if you’re adventurous enough, set up your own basketball net. I’m not saying you’re going to be the next Kobe or Clapton but it sure would be a more productive and useful way to allocate your time.

baseballandbeer-m

  1. Hi my first occasion to comment here, you do put forth a number of excellent points, making for a truly informative post, about this technology theme!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 501 other followers

