taylorshocks

Archive for April 2nd, 2010|Daily archive page

City Table Review, Exeter St. Boston

In Uncategorized on April 2, 2010 at 10:07 pm

I’ve wanted to try City Table Restaurant, located in Back Bay’s Lenox Hotel, for a while now. The first time I tried to go, my party of five dispersed and made other plans for the evening. The second attempt ended in a similar situation. An impromptu trip last night with my girlfriend, however, allowed me to finally try the place I’ve been longing to dine at for quite some time.

Without reservations at 10 PM we got seated immediately in a spacious, cozy booth in the back. Our waiter was honestly one of my favorite to date, and that is saying SOMETHING. He was chipper for it being 10pm, but not over the top– he was attentive but not buggy. I loved him. Our dinners were fabulous to boot and it wasn’t expensive. A WINNER ALL AROUND:

I had the Wala -Wala Onion Soup with Gruyere, Parmesan Croutons as my appetizer. I then had the Fire Roasted Chicken with Whipped Yukon Potatoes and Root Vegetable Ragout. I had a “few glasses” of the wonderful Freemark Abbey Napa Valley Chardonnay.

My girlfriend had the Hanger Steak Tacos, Ancho rubbed with Spicy Tomatoes and Guacamole for her starter and the Fall salad with Beets and Goat Cheese for her dinner. We both loved all of our dishes.

GO tonight to City Table.