taylorshocks

My Quest For The Perfect Companion (Dog, That Is)

In Uncategorized on April 23, 2010 at 3:20 pm

No, this isn’t going to be about me finding a husband or even a boyfriend for that matter. This is merely about getting myself an animal as a companion.

I’ve lived alone for three years now, and for anyone who knows me, it’s for the better. I would be walked on way too easily and most likely clean up after anyone I lived with. I did that during summers in NYC and San Francisco and didn’t mind whatsoever, but I could see how the type A self that I am could be overwhelming I’m sure at times. With that in mind, I have been trying to convince my parents to allow me to get a dog for years. Here was my process of elimination:

1) They’re fun but not requiring too much love and affection, like a baby would be doing for instance

2) They’re not as Chelsea Handler said stupid and poop in boxes and try to cover it up with kitty litter – I also have the literal spawn of a cat, named Gray Gray, who I will not elaborate on — he’s not worth the typing of the fingers. Let’s just say no go with cats

3) I think it could be a great pick-up tool. I am hoping men do this as well in cities? If not I will start a female pick-up revolution — women getting hit on by men because of cute dogs they have in tow

I have narrowed it down to these three breeds of dogs – I want a small dog, because I am a small girl and have no interest playing with a dog who could potentially cause me harm in my sleep.  I think I would name the doggie either Norton or Dexer — perhaps Stewart. I like really dweeby awkward non-dog like names. Here are the three I love:

1) French Bulldog


2) Boston Terrier


3) Beagle

The likelihood I will be receiving one of these dogs for graduation is highly unlikely if they think I will beginning an 8-8 job come June but hey, can’t a girl dream?

  1. omggg PUPPIES!! i absolutely cannot wait to have one of my own, either. i will say this: beagles are known to bark A LOT, but they are the most popular pet dog in America. My sister has a french bulldog (her’s is black) and although he is cute, he makes the most atrocious noises (cause of the breed’s smushed face hehe). ok maybe you didn’t care to know any of that but i happen to watch animal planet way too much and felt like sharing.

  2. I say you should go with the Boston Terrier. Boston Terriers are cuddly breeds with a sense of humor. I really think you’d like this breed. Just my two cents. ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 501 other followers

