taylorshocks

My Fall Bucket List

In Uncategorized on September 6, 2011 at 9:18 pm

Many things happened in August … a hurricane, an earthquake and an unforuntate tragedy in my hometown of Linwood, New Jersey… With that in mind, I want to take full advantage of every minute from this point moving forward. Sure, that’s overly aspirational… and most likely not going to stick more than a week or two but I WOULD like to hold myself to fufilling some if not ALL of my fall goals for my current Bucket List:

Take Up Watching A Spectator Sport

Beer Street Journal

I will come right out and say it… I am not competitive nor do I take any pleasure whatsoever in watching sports on television or live. The ONLY exception is going to live basketball games – something about them have always been thrilling to me. My dad and I went to a couple Philly games and Boston games – they were great memories. I’d love to learn football – no, not learn how to play, learn how to watch and be an avid and smart spectator. My family are big Eagles fans… by “big fans” I mean they’re more or less fair weathered ones – if the Eagles aren’t doing well, they turn on PBS or Sunday Night Edition of CBS. If they’re doing well, the whole room is on their feet and the beers are a’flowin. I woud like to be the knowledgeable level headed one who sticks to a team, regardless of how they do. WISH ME LUCK with that.

Find  A New Hobby – Exercise Wise That Is

Live Through Preppy Glasses

 As most of you know at this point, I’ve been a runner for 10 years now – weird to think about it but, regardless, I have been. I wouldn’t say I’m hardcore by ANY MEANS WHATSOEVER, let me preface it with that, but I do workout 5-6 days a week – it’s cathartic for me like sewing and needlepointing are for my mom. My only experience with non running related workout activites included three Spin classes over the course of my life. When the instructor screams at you to turn up the resitance and stand on your feet, I tend to do the opposite … I lower my notches and sit my butt back down due to exhaustion. I promise myself to do some classes this fall, perhaps at the oh-so-posh Soul Cycle, just to get myself out there meeting people who work out like me – I’m such an antisocial gym rat… who knew those even existed?

Host a Monthly Movie Night at My Apartment

Cooking on the Side

 I don’t ever host “soirees” it’s just… not my bag. I am not an entertainer nor am I good at multi tasking between cooking up good food to serve and being the hostess everyone wants me to be. I lived alone for three years in Boston with a great brownstone apartment and will soon be moving to my own place again in Midtown East Manhattan and yet? I just can’t pull it together to be that all-encompassing entertainer – my best friend, Ally, breeds domesticity – she is great with adorning apartments and throwing little cocktail parties. I clearly didn’t buy myself a mirror or put up a picture frame for 5 months, it wasn’t until I was told by my straight guy roommate that I need to add SOMETHING to my apartment, that it hit me just how bad I’ve become. I am hosting, starting this point on, a once a month movie marathon night. Whoever’s around can bring some food and booze (emphasis on the booze rather than the food part), and I will craft up some cocktails and food and well make a night of it. That’s my plan and I’m sticking to it!

Going To The Thea-tre!

Hyper Vocal

 Before I even knew what running really was, I was ALL about being a Broadway star. I’d spend money on singing lessons for years, only to be told down the road that I was wasting the instructors time and my money, took dance (that, my friends, I was good at thank you very much) and starred in a few local plays (ok, well perhaps I didn’t star, but I was definitely in the top of the masthead). I love seeing Broadway shows more than I love most things in NYC – I just don’t allocate the small amount of time that I do have to going to shows… I should though, because they make me happy. I cannot wait to see Book of Mormon and perhaps Lion King for like… the third time. Who cares, “The Circle of Life” never gets old in my book.

Branch Out of Plain Old Black

Moma's Rolling Stone

I think it’s because my mom ONLY wears black that I too adopted the notion that black was all that you purchase when walking into a colorfully displayed retail store. Don’t get me wrong, black has major perks – it never goes out of style, it is always flattering AND you can spill wine or oil on yourself with minimal embarrasement. I do, however, feel that I look drab at times and or pale during the winter months when I wear black every day night and day. My olive skin looks good with colors such as olive, brown and periwinkle – I will be incorporating some fall hues into my wardrobe for this upcoming cool season. I want some mesh brown/cream sweaters, some tweed print skirts and some stament color pieces like bright orange and green.
 

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 501 other followers

