taylorshocks

Drake – The Cocky Yet Insecure Singer Whose Paving the Way for Hip Hop

In Uncategorized on December 6, 2011 at 3:08 am

Here’s my thing about Drake. While he absolutely drives me nuts for reasons as to which I’ll elaborate on in this blog post, he also manages to seduce me into his music and overall entity.

Do I still see him as Jimmy from Degrassi? Undoubtedly. On other hand, do I think he’s become THE one to catch up with in the R&B field? You better believe it.

Drake’s cocky, unapologetic, skilled, twisted, hurt, proud – and for that, I find him to be the largest rising star in the music game.

While I loved his original hits for their catchy appeal such as Best I Ever Had and Find Your Love, his latest album just blew it out of the water for me. Some songs specifically are just mind blowing- Take Care, Headlines, Lord Knows and Make Me Proud. On this album, he’s raw and honest while still presenting himself in that egotistical manner that we all are attracted to him for (don’t try to convince yourself otherwise).

Killer Hip Hop

If he continues to integrate great outside forces such as unbelievably talented Otis Redding into his mixes and provide listeners with raw emotion, he’ll continue to be a path maker not driver on a pre done road. People want honesty and they also want diversity. Bringing in Rihanna, Rick Ross and Nicki Minaj were also smart moves.

411 Daily

No need to take care quite yet, Drake. I’m excited for what’s to come.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 501 other followers

