taylorshocks

My Winter Food & Drink Escapades

In Uncategorized on February 18, 2012 at 6:45 pm

Rubirosa

Serious Eats

I have to be honest, I’m hard to please when it comes to dinner. I have very high expectations of restaurants and my experiences there – even pizza shops. I was told this NoLita spot was a must-try and luckily I ended up taking someone’s word for it and haven’t looked back since. Within the past two months I must have been three times if not more, that’s awkward… oh well. Some stand out dishes include: Vodka Pizza, Minestrone Soup, Brick Pressed Chicken with Black Kale and Figs, Black & White Tagliatelle with Scallops, Shrimps and Mussels and who can forget ONE OF THE BEST desserts I’ve ever consumed: Apple Crumble with Salted Caramel Gelato. Bring me back now, please and thank you.

Celsius at Bryant Park 

Google

Aside from the fact that the bar only serves Pernod Ricard products (cough, clients) I adore this great bar. I will miss it come summer time for sure. Who WOULDN’T like an “igloo” inspired bar with all glass windows over looking the ice skaters at Bryant Park? I mean, come on. I also love the bartenders/servers attire – bright blue bubble jackets. I’m sure they don’t find them as amusing as I do when they’re running around all night hot as hell in a big blue bubble jacket. Regardless, I’d suggest you stop by before it closes for the season or make it a point to go next winter.

Osteria Morini

New York Mag

Ironically enough, I was supposed to try Mornini last year around this time but we didn’t have reservations so we opted for another restaurant which sucked. Luckily, a year later, I finally got around to booking dinner there in advance and boy am I happy with decision. Dinner was absolutely delicious. We had the Artichoke/Cranberry Bean Spread with Crostinis, Calamari with fresh Tomatoes, Parmesan and Kale, Bouillabaisse of sorts, orgasmic Yam Raviolis and this Chocolate Hazelnut Custard… oh, my god. Go right now.

Tartinery

Architect CO UK

Also located in NoLita this spot is a great choice for some romantic wine – or you know, if you’re mom comes into town and we have some time to kill before our dinner reservations. Either or right? The restaurant itself looked gorgeous even though we didn’t dine there. I’d definitely recommend stopping by at the bar for a glass (or four) with some very attractive looking Italian waiters catering to your vino needs.

Aldea

Noisette NYC

I have heard great things about Aldea for a while now so I’m glad I was able to recently try it. While I’m not usually a fan of Croquetas, these were amazing with a roasted garlic aioli, the Mussel Soup with Fennel was incredible too . I had the Chatham Cod with Braised Chickpeas and Tomatoes – also incredible. Highly recommend this restaurant for anyone who loves fish in any context.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 501 other followers

