taylorshocks

The Voice and American Idol – My Predictions for Top 3

In Uncategorized on April 12, 2012 at 4:58 pm

I will preface this post by stating that I am not musically inclined OR knowlegdable. I will give myself some credit, however, by noting that I’ve been an avid “reality TV music watcher” since the beginning of Idol’s existence (crazy how fast time flies). This year, both The Voice and Idol have totally sucked me in and forced me to watch each and every week – other years, I can’t say that’s been the case. My love for Idol comes and goes – The Voice, on the other hand, has been a favorite of mine since last year’s debut season.

This year, I think both shows have SOLID stand outs as opposed to years past. There are clearly some people that everyone knows will be in the finale unless a wild card appears which always, as you know, adds another level of excitement and entertainment to ANY show.

I’ll start with Idol since I have a three top picks and then my prediction for the winner:

Jessica Sanchez

I mean… let’s be serious here for a minute. If for SOME ODD REASON Jessica doesn’t win this season of Idol what’s the likelihood that she won’t become even bigger than the winner whoever that may be? Jessica has been singing since it seems she was old enough to hold a mic. She has mastered the art of looking, acting and singing much older than her actual age exposes. I think she will win, however, Joshua has a VERY good chance of winning as well. I think it will be a very close neck and neck race to the finish of this season, that’s for sure.

Joshua Ledet

All of you know by know that I am a huge R&B/Soul fan – anytime people can belt to the high heavens, I die in happiness. Joshua, again looking and singing much older than his actual age, has been a consistent top pick throughout the season. He’s vocally incredible and able to really command the audience, even more so than Jessica in some ways. As long as he keeps it up, he will be in a battle with Jessica for the title.

Phillip Phillips

If I could pick a winner based on my OWN personal music preference oh…. and looks (HELLO) I’d pick Phillip as the clear winner. He is SUCH a unique singer with an incredible sense of creativity when it comes to his renditions of every song he performs. He’s stuck true to his style of music and his personality and I applaud that. I think he will be a Ray LaMontagne-like successful singer regardless of if he wins or not – hello, he’s not even 22 yet… awkward…..

Now on to The Voice, I love this show for so many reasons (take a peek at one of my recent blog posts dedicated to my love for it if you so desire). I think this show has some really strong contenders as well as some singers that I truthfully don’t understand HOW they’re still on the show. Regardless, again, I think Team Adam will be taking one for the team this year. Christina has a strong singer, Jesse Campbell, who will be in the top two undoubtedly, but I don’t think he has the overall vibe that The Voice is looking for.

Pip Arnold (Team Adam)

Pip’s undoubtedly my favorite. He’s young, he’s fresh and he’s unbelievably talented. Adam was spot on for keeping him in the running after the battle rounds: he really can sing out of a suitcase. I think he has the potential to win the entire competition as long as he sticks to younger songs and does not go the theatrical/older ballad route.

Tony Lucca (Team Adam)

Tony has a special spot in my heart – forever a Mouseketeer in my mind. I love him and I think he will remain in the contest until the final few. Do I think he’ll win? Um, no not necessarily, but I do think he has a shot at it if he really begins to WOW everyone. At the moment, his performances are “passing” – they need to be “over the top” to win at a music competition of this caliber – that’s just my opinion though of course.

Jesse Campbell (Team Christina)

I don’t dig his whole “I’m homeless” story – I get that he probably is in fact not an owner of a home, however, I don’t like when people divulge all of their lives hardships before the first commercial break. Jesse has SO MUCH talent that to be honest, he never had to really even mention that he needs the money and fame bad – he can win this without that heart string effect.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 501 other followers

