taylorshocks

No It’s Totally Cool, I Wasn’t Trying To Say Hi Either- The Runner’s Wave Debate

In Confusion, Love, Uncategorized on August 6, 2008 at 4:39 am

I run. I have been running for the majority of my life now, and I have come to one conclusion. I really can’t make a decision whether or not “runners” as a whole are nice athletes. I tried to think about the races I ran for years and the dynamic between the runners. Tense, anxiety ridden, and fearful. I was the only “non competitive runner” who was there primarily to socialize and meet fellow people who shared my join in running. I came to find out shortly after I began trying to strike up conversations mid-race, that not many people shared in my desires to “create friendships”. 

After finishing my years of “competitive cough racing cough” I began just leisurely going for runs on my own. Whether it be on a boardwalk, on my college campus, or even more likely just on the streets in my hometown. What I have ALSO discovered over the years is that I think the “runner wave” is not universal, whatsoever. I have become such a comfortable runner that I can obviously take the ONE SECOND it takes to wave at any fellow jogggers while out on my run. However, I would estimate that 70 percent of the time, I don’t get any ACKNOWLEDGMENT WHATSOEVER.

It’s my opinion that us runners, like people who join the Greek system, are part of a select few. Not many people can say that they “thoroughly enjoy” waking up and going for a run, primarily for the sake of just loving to run. Most athletes claim that running is usually their punishment. With all of this in mind, I think I should start a revolution…. and make it a point to wave and smile at EACH and every fellow club member from this point on.

  1. like the greek system… or like being a Jew… being a true runner is like being a part of an exclusive club. If they dont reciprocate the runners wave, they’re running out of obligation… a new years resolution perhaps… I miss XC 😦

  2. taylor, lets go running at BU. i completely forgot you used to do XC in highschool too. We can run around and fuck with people during the process, itll be great

Leave a Reply

