taylorshocks

Fat Guy in a Little Coattt…. Reasons Why I Love Tommy Boy

In Uncategorized on August 11, 2008 at 3:16 am

My first post on this blog discussed my reaction after having read the Chris Farley Biography. I swore after having read it that I wouldn’t be able to watch any old favorites of mine such as Tommy Boy or Black Sheep. That idea obviously didn’t last long, keeping in mind I watched and thoroughly enjoyed Tommy Boy last night. I think I can say in confidence, that the older I get, the funnier I think the movie really is.

I think I just love the combination of David Spade’s seriousness and  Chris Farley’s utter innocence. Another reason I love the movie is the simple yet humorous lines that stick with you such as, “Brothers don’t shake hands… Brother’s hug!”

Clearly, this movie is no Pulp Fiction or It’s a Wonderful Life, but what I love about this movie is that it never claims to be a serious, mind expanding film. It’s dumb, and it’s inappropriate but I think that’s the point. It allows me to forget about life’s hardships and to just laugh about stupid shit for a few hours, and for that? I praise the movie.

  1. You also love Chris Farley, because i resemble/sound like him when i yell.

Leave a Reply

