taylorshocks

The Return of Boy Bands- Say It Isn’t So

In Uncategorized on August 13, 2008 at 2:29 pm

I was recently watching the new “New Kids On The Block” Video entitled, “Summertime” when it hit me. Is this the beginning of the end? Are boy bands who were once popular ALL going to begin making sub-mediocre videos and trying to regain their wealth and popularity they once had? I sure hope not.

 

 

The magic that was the “Boy Band Phenomena” was something unique, I’ll admit that. I will also admit that I attended my fair share of N*SYNC (yes, they once wished to have their band name spelled this way) and O Town Concerts. I think though, once the boy band market became FLOODED with options, similarly to the system overload of products in our society, there became somewhat of a system overload of boy bands in America…. Dream Street, Back Street Boys, O Town, LFO, N*SYNC… I am probably missing a few and if so? Feel free to comment. I just feel like the craze died once there was no real thrill anymore… 

In regards to “the return of the boy bands” I really hope that concept does not fully flesh out. I was thoroughly disgusted after having watched a four minute video for the new “New Kids On The Block” song. There were five men who clearly have dyed their hair, who shouldn’t be wearing tight white t-shirts, and who really cannot keep the same tunes they once could all together… trying to make a comeback. I just think they did a fine job back in the 80’s/90’s and should remain doing individual endeavors and leave the current “Boy Band”- esque groups such as the oh-so-popular Jonas Brother’s to their stardom.

Leave a Reply

