taylorshocks

Why Can’t There Be Gourmet Markets Everywhere?

In Uncategorized on January 8, 2009 at 4:46 pm

So,

I found a little boutique bread shop about six months ago called, “When Pigs Fly“. I’m sure all of you recall. Well, if you don’t I’ll be happy to refresh your memory. It’s located in Coolidge Corner, and offers various types of  freshly baked bread. I think that cultured cities such as Boston, for example,  should have these unique grocery stores. I know the economy is in the SLUMS, however, it adds charm to cities.

In Miami, instead of the horrendous grocery stores such as ACME, Star Market, and Genardi’s, they have a market called EPICURE. I was hesitant only at first because of it’s location next to Lincoln Road. I thought perhaps they offers “gourmet chocolate coffee beans” and “strawberry preserves with a hint of mint”. Instead, I was pleasantly surprised with what I found inside.

store_front

I was able to (as per usual) sneak in a few photos of some the highlights. 

img_07431

Yes, ladies and gents this is an entire refrigerated section of the market that features prepared canned fresh soups, including Matzoh Ball Soup??? I am sold. There are over 30 soups available created in house. Smart move, Epicure, smart move.

img_0745

Here we have ALL homemade pastas, as opposed to the generic brands that every other market offers. The bags are even beautiful….. and biodegradable I’m sure. 

Other than the cranky woman ringing me up that joked I looked 13? I had a wonderful experience and highly recommend more cities that consider themselves to be “cultured” incorporate more of these unique markets.

Leave a Reply

