taylorshocks

Elvis’ Beach Bar- Wait, you’re not Elvis!

In Uncategorized on March 10, 2009 at 2:30 pm

I have to admit I’m a stiff. I don’t like to venture out of my comfort zone all too often. I also realize that those who vacation with me are destined to be bored, frustrated, or a little bit of both. I enjoy waking up late, reading in silence, tanning, and running alone. So, when people push me (as was the case) yesterday to try things “out of my comfort zone” I’m clearly apprehensive.

While foraging for deli meats that were not preserved in god know what and rolls that had not been in the back of a truck for a week, we came across a MASSIVE Supermarket. Now, when I say the locals in Anguilla call ALL of their “grocery stores” Supermarkets, I’m not lying. If you consider large stuffed monkeys and a 90’s Kodak camera displayed in the windows a “supermarket” then alright.

After finally find a REAL grocery store we aimed to go look at the “bar scene” in Sandy Ground. While Scott, Av, Ally and I were fish of of water (driving around in a white SUV) we came across some DUDS and some winners in regards to bars here on the island of Anguilla. Although, I don’t feel ANY of these little stops are safe for Ally and I to venture off to alone, I feel they could be great to go to with “adult supervision” and or Mace.

We decided to stop for some reason at Elvis’ Beach Bar– maybe it was because we couldn’t seem to locate the others? Maybe it was because we didn’t feel safe driving up the concrete path towards the only other ones we saw? Or perhaps it was FATE. All we knew, was that we were about to embark on an interesting cocktail hour.

I must admit, I’ve dined worldwide yet never have I seen a bar so creative. When I say the bar is a literal Caribbean Wooden Racing boat converted into a boat? I’m not lying. It was a beautiful boat that was cut in two. Elvis, the OH SO precocious Bar tender/ Owner/ Entrepreneur spends his night walking from the front to the back of the boat, serving locals and tourists more than their fair share of “Rum cocktails’.

In addition to the inventive boat, the drinks were too shabby either. He concocted us his “Famous Rum Punch” that we had to try. It was 2/3 rum and I’d say a splash of his “Iced Tea- like secret juice”, with a slice of orange, and a cherry. It was a killer. He also threw us another fruitier pink drink of which I can’t blog about only because I don’t recall the name. Ally, in the middle of the beverages got a Caribe beer, which are very popular on the island.

After a few drinks, and lovely conversations with Brett the co-owner, and Elvis, the owner we are most definitely coming back at least two or three more times before we leave. Perhaps I’ll run off with Brett and live happily on the beach by the boat/bar for the rest of my life? The possibilities are endless.

img_00232

  1. I have been traveling to Anguilla for four years. Five visits in the last year alone & I have NEVER felt unsafe there. I was shocked when I read that it wouldn’t be safe for you to go alone. I actually prefer to go out to Sandy Ground alone.
    I just wanted to share my experience.
    Elvis’ is a quite remarkable place. My favorite part: Elvis and Brett are right there all the time 🙂

  2. I’d marry you anyday! You’ld make me a proud man. Hope to see you soon! Tell the family HELLO!
    BRETT

Leave a Reply

