taylorshocks

Blanchard’s

In Uncategorized on March 13, 2009 at 5:06 pm

So the size of the restaurant can’t be any bigger than my apartment… or any college dorm room for that matter, but I must say- they never disappoint me. While the prices are sky high, it’s quite a nice dinner and worth the pretty penny you pay. I think there needs to be a much better view but the location doesn’t really warrant a better view, so it is what it is I suppose.  

To start I had the Roasted Mussels in a broth simmered with lemongrass, lime juice, ginger, garlic, coconut milk, and chopped plum tomatoes.  The broth was creamier than I’m used to because they incorporated some coconut milk. I didn’t love it but it was definitely worth trying. 

For dinner I chose Mel’s Cioppino: their version of this classic seafood stew loaded with fresh mahi mahi, mussels, scallops and shrimp, simmered in a rich seafood-tomato broth. This was delicious, it was served sizzling hot with two toasted baguettes for dipping. 

The dessert was my least favorite part but it was fairly creative and out of the box. It was a Buttermilk Lemon Pound Cake served warm with chocolate sorbet, fresh raspberry sauce, and toffee crumbles.

blanchardsrestaurant

Leave a Reply

