taylorshocks

Can I Have Your Autograph? My New Chef Obsession

In Uncategorized on April 3, 2009 at 12:05 pm

So during my last trip to Miami, I mentioned to you guys my great experience dining at Michy’s, Michelle Bernstein’s restaurant. Well, what I did NOT tell you was that while I was enjoying my dinner I was asked if I wished to purchase her cookbook. The OBVIOUS answer was, “heck yes”. I also figured Iwould have Jose, our busboy, fetch me a copy in the back and put the “add on” to our check at the end. When Michelle AND her husband came out to meet and greet me? I was very impressed to say the least. Unpretentious, quick witted, and brilliant are the three words that come to mind to describe Michelle. She’s a brilliant cook but not such a great PR person. When I grilled her on who does her PR she merely cocked her head and said, “Myself?” She offered me a job working for her friends at the Mandarin Oriental, but to be honest, I’d be just ask content working as her foodie slave helping her become her own “Food Empire“.

The cookbook, Cuisine A Latina has WONDERFUL recipes — some of which include Arroz Con Pollo (my personal favorite) and a great Greek Salad. I thought I’d find a recipe in the book you guys may like — a Sugarcane Skewered Shrimp with Chile-Cilantro Rub Recipe.

latin_skewered-shrimp_4x3_lg

Plug in the link below to download her printable recipe card for this dish.

http://www.foodnetwork.com/food/cda/recipe_print/0,1946,FOOD_9936_18901_PRINT-RECIPE-3X5-CARD,00.html

I would also like to add that by creating this post I’d HOPING Michelle comes across it (or perhaps her husband) and realizes my potential as a GREAT (and free) PR person and hires me after graduation. Hey, we can all dream right?

Leave a Reply

