taylorshocks

Subway.. What’s All The Fuss About?

In Uncategorized on May 7, 2009 at 8:41 pm

While cramming for finals last December, my best friend Lena opted to go to Subway for a quick meal on the go. I clearly am one to sit down and dine. I would give up showering, running, and most other luxurious in life to sit down and enjoy each and every one of my meals. But hey, that’s just me. Anywhoo, while waiting in the unbelievably long line to order, it hit me. What’s the big fuss about Subway in the first place?

Yes, the days when Jared lost 300+ pounds from munching solely on their subs did change Subway from a lower end sandwich chain to a “fabulous and health conscious restaurant-on-the-go“. I don’t feel, however, that deserves the hype it receives.

jaredfogle

I asked Lena, a vegetarian, what her pick was from the oh-so-glam Subway. She told me one of the “Fit” and “Vegeterian” options was called the Veggie Delite. I watched as the people behind the counter added layers of sliced pickles, shredded lettuce, and tomatoes to her “sub”. Now, in my mind HUGE RED FLAGS went off in my head. Does no one else but me think this is RIDICULOUS? Where is the actual sub!??? If you’re response is, “Oh well, how authentic can you make subs without meat?” I can and WILL argue you with this one. There are amazing vegetarian dishes out there, THIS CLEARLY is not one of them.

subway300506_450x295

Of COURSE it’s “fit” — how could there possibly be anything fattening in a sub consisting of onion slices, pickles, and tomatoes? Let’s be serious here.

This is what freaks me out most about Subway, they can have food that makes Jenny Craig looks like a GREAT OPTION, yet, they can also order The Feast. This sub, after having researched more about it, made my mouth salivate just by reading its description. This sub consists of:

  • Roast Beef
  • Salami
  • Pepperoni
  • Turkey
  • Black Forest Ham
  • American Cheese

feastSo, you mean to tell me when Jared originally walked into Subway and saw items such as The Feast he said, “No thank you, I’d prefer to eat shredded dry lettuce and onion slices?” Highly, highly doubtful. I’m currently in the process of researching Jared’s “confounding variables” that resulted in his weight loss — I will let you know what I find.


Leave a Reply

