taylorshocks

It’s My Birthday So Here’s To My Favorite Dishes

In Uncategorized on July 1, 2009 at 3:49 pm

I was planning on writing about the Battle Of The Press Coverage, MJ versus Farrah, but I decided that because it is my birthday I wanted to do this post. The post will consist of mouth salivating photos, and descriptions. Be prepared! Below are my all-time favorite dishes of all time. Some are more sophisticated than others.

                         fried_french_toast_sticks

French Toast Sticks- So most likelllyyy you haven’t thought of these breakfast gifts from heaven in quite some time. I however dream of them quite often. I used to warm them up to the point they were moist and soggy- then I’d drench (not dip) no, drench the sticks in Aunt Jemima’s. Not much comes close.

home-made-fries

French Fries with Honey- It wasn’t until recently that I began liking the actual taste of Ketchup. With that in mind, I needed another conidment growing up to dip my french fries into. Honey was the perfect fit. I remember countless drive through experiences when I would ask for ‘EXTRA HONEY PACKETS PLEASE’. (They tend to be fairly skimpy)

peanut_butter_caramelized_bananas_490

Peanut Butter, Banana, and Honey Sandwiches- Throughout high school I was a cross country and track runner. I enjoyed carbo loading for any reason I could conjure up. “Meet in 7 days? Time to carbo load!” I also didn’t start varying my lunch menus until college — the wraps, salads, and soups came with age. I had very clear directions for my mother when she prepared my lunch in the mornings-

1) Heavy on the Chunky Peanut Butter (both sides)

2) Load the honey on the right slice of bread only (make sure it’s drenched)

3) Sliced bananas included only if the banana is not too ripe 

IMG_7098

Arroz Con Pollo- Other than my mother’s infamous Tamale Pie, her Arroz Con Pollo is equally as delicious. I love the peas, rice, chicken, and stewed tomato combination.

dsc_7081-1-500x332

Seafood Paella- I have to give a shout out to the best Paella I have ever had, MANNA in Margate NJ. If you’re ever in the area aka down in the dirty Jersey Shore, be sure to head to Manna for the unbelievable Paella. The owner/chef brings out the steaming couldron for you.

Leave a Reply

