taylorshocks

Zaftig’s Deli- Oy, So Good!

In Uncategorized on July 16, 2009 at 6:01 pm

So my best friend Hadassa has been up my ass to try this Jewish Deli with her for months now. The first thing that comes to mind when I think of Jewish Deli’s from my child hood are overweight waitresses in shirts far too small asking what size “Balls” I want (Matzoh balls that is of course). While I remember days my father would salivate over Roast Beef Sandwiches from the deli, I never had any really memorable experiences myself. With that in mind, I took her up on the brunch offer and boy am I happy I did. From the extensive menu, to the location in Coolidge Corner — I really loved all aspects of my experience at Zaftig’s Deli in Brookline. 


zaftigs logo

In terms of what I ordered — you will all be very bored. Surprisingly, while I order the most esoteric dishes for lunch and dinner to write and review about, I rarely stray away from my breakfast pick whether it be at home in my own kitchen or at a restaurant. I created my own Omelette with Feta, Spinach, Mushrooms. I also ordered whole wheat toast with a side of Lox, of course.  Hadassa ordered the Buttermilk Pancakes with fresh bananas on top (accompanied by a delicious strawberry butter to drizzle on top of the pancakes). 


omelet
bananabuttermilkpancakes-1 One of the coolest part of the dining experience was definitely the complimentary Cinnamon bagel chips with a delicious butter that they served us while we waited for our meals. 

bagelchip0207-1Overall I totally suggest coming here, great service, great food, and a wonderful menu. The next few things I can’t wait to try include:

– San Francisco Joe’s Special
House made ground turkey hash, mushrooms, onions, spinach and egg, topped with grated asiago

– Potato Pancakes with Smoked Salmon
Served with dill lime sour cream

– Banana stuffed French Toast $9.95
In a bourbon-vanilla batter with date butter and berries

 

Zaftig’s Deli

http://www.zaftigs.com

335 Harvard Street, Brookline, MA 02246

(617) 975- 0075

 


Leave a Reply

