taylorshocks

Power Bar- One Name, So Many Options

In Uncategorized on July 18, 2009 at 3:38 pm

I usually despise the thought of missing a meal and grabbing a “bar on the go“, but sometimes, you just really don’t have the actual time in the day to sit your ass down! With that in mind, every so often I buy a power bar on my morning run to the convenience store. I grudgingly pick up the first one that sounds appealing– sometimes I’m oddly impressed, other times I want to feed it to my pugs. I’m here to help all of you decide which bar to grab while you’re in a hurry…

Power Bar- The original, the father of all “power bars”. I would say 90% of people I know despise this specific bar– they think it looks and tastes like mush. I don’t care for the consistency of the sticky gooey bar either, however, it’s low in fat and rather tasty (depending on the flavor you choose –> I suggest the Cookies n’ Cream, Vanilla Crisp, and Peanut Butter) B

powerbar_011

Luna- See, I’m really not a fan of fruit flavored bars so most of the bars that Luna prides itself on i.e. Lemon Zest, I won’t even bother to try out. I don’t MIND the S’mores and Nuts Over Chocolate, but they really weren’t doing it for me. C+

2346282959_70c4d588aa

Go Lean- Yeah, no. These bars taste like Gerbil food…. ew god. I had Peanut Butter and Chocolate yesterday and spit it out. Like… let’s be serious here for a minute. How can you mess up CHOCOLATE AND PEANUT BUTTER? Unless you try really really hard. I don’t suggest these bars. C-

goleanrollbar

Balance- Balance bars have been a staple of my diet for over 10 years now. Why you may ask? I ran and danced throughout my childhood/teenage years. AKA Balance bars were my carb loading bar of choice prior to a big race — or dance rehearsal. I think Carmel Nut Blast is one of my favorites. I don’t think they’re large enough but hey, if you’re not satisfied after one- have another! It’s a power bar — it’s “nutritious” right? B+

bb

South Beach Diet- So I refused to eat any “diet” bars prior to SB Bars, and I’m telling you honestly? It’s my favorite power bar if you will, hands down. It’s a large bar, extremely satisfying, and full of flavor and texture. I was so surprised only because bars that are “weight watchers” i.e. Pria Bars for instance and VERY small and not flavorful. So it was a huge surprise that this bar was not only tasty but lower in fat and full of crunch! I suggest the Peanut Butter Chocolate bar. A

10215m

Odwalla- No no no no. I don’t like Odwalla to begin with. Ok, come after me with flamed torches I know but I just do not like their products. My mother was one of the founders of Naked Juice in LA back in the day so maybe I’m a bit bias but I just don’t like their products. I thought however I’d give their bars a shot– bad bad idea. I don’t like any of the flavors I’ve tried thus far. Maybe at some point I’ll change my mind, but at the moment I’m still on Team Naked Juice. C-

CIMG2445_thumb[1]

Leave a Reply

