taylorshocks

My Obsession with The Obama’s

In Uncategorized on August 26, 2009 at 1:48 am

I rarely say I crush on women- the likelihood you’ll hear the words “girl” and “crush” in the same sentence is .0004%. Michelle Obama happens to fall into that itty bitty category however. She’s everything I aspire to be in life: disciplined, fashionable, and carefree. Obama’s great and all, don’t get me wrong, but there is something about Michelle that lures me in. I think it’s her ability to let loose and have fun with her hubby and kids on vacations while also being extremely anal (i.e. her habit of waking up at 4 am to work out and play piano).

Her fashion sense is out of control — I used to care about style. I actually won Best Dressed in my high school believe it or not. The years in college, however, have turned me into somewhat of a lazy human being. I opt for the sweats or jogging pants when possible and rarely doll myself up. I consider a nicer pair of jeans accompanied by a “nicer” dress top to be my attempt at being fashionable.

michelle_obama_fashion_style1

She has a way about throwing her outfits together– while all of the pieces look thrown together in a way that’s “casual chic”, she totally spends the time to plot out “WOW outfits”.

I think the Obama’s are very similar to the Kennedy’s in my eyes. My mom was unbelievably enamored with JFK growing up and I can see why now with the Obama’s. There’s an air of elegance and simplicity to their family dynamic and style. I would love to be part of their clan — scouting for potential dogs, tasting what’s cooking in the White House Kitchen, and most of all… go on their vacations.

obamasatthevinyard

Exhibit A- The Obama’s Headed to Martha’s Vineyard this past weekend

Kennedy1962Family

Exhibit B- The Kennedy’s- Most likelllyyy at Martha’s Vineyard as well

While the family does travel more than those working for Conde Nast, I think their way of styles and way of life will be emulated for centuries to come. While I don’t have Jackie O to look to for style advice, I feel Michelle’s making quite a name for herself as is….

Leave a Reply

