taylorshocks

Lola’s On Harrison — Where to Eat In Hollywood, FL

In Uncategorized on January 4, 2010 at 5:47 pm

I will openly admit I’m not only “high maintenance” as my parents and brother like to put it, but I also am quite a travel snob – I don’t like “meals on the fly” and I do NOT enjoy flying related issues. After having bought some Food Mags to read in the airport, I was told the flight back home for New Years would be delayed by two hours, then five, then it was cancelled completely. Last minute, we nabbed the final four seats on the plane back home December 31st and opted to get two “hotel” rooms by the airport and leave in the morning.

At the concierge desk, the woman suggested for some fine dining we look to the local Red Lobster and Chili’s – it was at this point tears embarrassingly enough began to stream down my face. It was bad enough as is I was forced to walk through security shoeless, sit in god knows what contaminated airport seats, and then be told our flight was cancelled – the LAST thing on Earth I had in mind was Red Lobster. By process of elimination, my father found Lola’s on Harrison (located in Hollywood, FL) on Zagat. It was so delicious and enjoyable of an experience? That I actually forgot about the traveling troubles of the day – now THAT says something.

Lola’s takes the traditional American comfort foods and reinvents them in very original and absolutely salivating ways. Some of the dishes we ordered are as follows: appetizers of “Nachos” – which in reality came prepared as 3 large chips with the accoutrements loaded on the 3 individual chips, Caesar Salad prepared with huge Romaine Hearts, Parmesan Twists and Parmagiano flakes dusted on top.  For dinner, I had the Roasted Chicken with a Mushroom Bread Stuffing, Apple Smoked Bacon, and sautéed Brussel Sprouts (a personal favorite), my brother got the Coca Cola Baby Back Ribs with Creamed Corn and Onion Rings (yes, he has a good metabolism), my mother and father ordered the Whole Wheat Pappardelle with Raw Tomatoes, Bay Leaves, and diced Sirloin Steak. Everything was out of this world – not to mention the chef came out and hung out with us for a good half hour – totally enjoyable to say the least. Even if you’re not stranded – find your way to Lola’s in Hollywood, FL as soon as possible.


Leave a Reply

