taylorshocks

A Recent Recipe Concoction: Farfalle with Chicken, Capers, Asapargus, Roasted Red Peppers & Pecorino Cheese

In Uncategorized on July 21, 2011 at 4:11 pm

Sometimes, my ability to follow directions falls short. OK, I’ll admit it — most of the time my ability to follow recipe directions falls short. I will explain why though very easily… I don’t want to walk to yet ANOTHER store to pick up some dry white wine or schlep (yiddish word for haul) a big ass can of tomatoes sometimes when I’ll be walking home from the market on foot. With that in mind, many of the things I create are “my little concoctions“. My killer egg white omelets began in a similar fashion — I used to throw any veggies and cut up cheese I had in my fridge into the omelet, well more like my scramble. Regardless, they came out AMAZING. From that point on, I go first with convenience and work my way back from there.

I didn’t want to follow through the pasta/chicken recipe I brought with me to the market last week so I decided to grab things I enjoy eating and hope that it tasted good together, boy did I luck out this time. This dish is so easily converted from a dinner to a tupperware lunch pick. I promise it’s just as good cold and or hot the next day at work or in school.

Ingredients

  • Boneless Chicken Breasts (Poached, preferably or sauteed if you’d prefer)
  • Pecorino Romano Cheese (finely grated)
  • Whole Wheat Farfalle
  • Fresh Baby Asapargus (1 small bundle)
  • Tomato Sauce (a small can of Hunt’s will do)
  • Roasted Red Peppers (skip the ones covered in oil, opt for the ones in water or nothing at all instead)
  • Garlic (minced)
  • Capers (salted, of course, have you met me?)

Instructions

  1. Place raw washed chicken in cut up pieces into a small boiling pot, cover and keep on high heat until chicken is fully cooked through and moist – approximately 10 minutes maximum
  2. While the chicken is cooking, cook the whole wheat Farfalle until almost al dente then add in the fresh asapargus, cook for approx. 2-3 more minutes then put through pasta sifter
  3. In a large bowl, combine the small can of tomato sauce, minced garlic (2 tbl), roasted red peppers, percorino cheese and capers
  4. Once the chicken is cooked thoroughly, cut into bite size pieces and toss into the large bowl with the tomato mixture
  5. Pour the pasta/asapargus mixture into the tomato mixuture
  6. Garnish with some additional Pecorino and Capers

As mentioned before, look how easy it is to bring with you to work?! ENJOY

Leave a Reply

