taylorshocks

Healthy Fall Dinner Recipe: Chicken with Penne, Rosemary, Sweet Potatoes, Arugula, Leeks and Feta

In Uncategorized on September 1, 2011 at 2:45 pm

Folks. September 1 has arrived. That’s quite scary in my opinion… seeing as that my time in the sun has shrunk significantly over the past few years. I surely do miss the summer days growing up I’d park my ass on a beach by 10am and not move (except for my WaWa sub that is) until 6pm. Adulthood, of course, kicked in and those days are long gone – womp womp womp.

On a less depressing note, I crafted an awesome new fall inspired healthy recipe – I took parts of a recipe I found on Eats Well with Others and then added in my own little pizzaz, as per ALWAYS. I should, just once, stick a recipe I find..especially when it comes to my baking seeing as that baking is ALL about precision and I’m ALL about spontaneity and creativity which leaves me many times with cookies starchier than biscuits found in Kentucky, WHOOPS.

This recipe incorporates tons of antioxidant powerhouses like sweet potatoes, leeks and arugula as well as classic favorite incorporations: chicken, rosemary and feta cheese. ENJOY!

Chicken with Rosemary, Feta, Arugula, Whole Wheat Penne, Roasted Sweet Potatoes and Sautéed Leeks

Ingredients

  • Boneless chicken breast (you could also swap this for Bay Scallops)
  • Some twigs of fresh rosemary
  • Crumbled low-fat feta cheese
  • 3 sweet potatoes (diced)
  • 3 leeks
  • 1 small box of arugula (organic prefered)
  • Whole wheat penne

Directions

  • In a small saute pan, saute the leeks (cut up into small circular shapes) for 15-20 minutes – wait until the leeks are golden brown
  • Turn the oven onto 450 — cut up the potatoes into small circles -drizzle with EVOO, rosemary, salt and pepper – bake in the oven 30 min until fully cooked 
  • Begin boiling your water, once boiling cook the penne pasta until al dente then set aside
  • In the same small pan, pour some more EVOO and cook the chicken with a little butter, salt/pepper and some twigs of fresh rosemary until fully cooked – set aside
  • In a large glass/plastic bowl, combine the chicken, penne pasta, roasted sweet potatoes, sautéed leeks — add in the crumbled feta and arugula
  • Garnish with additional feta and rosemary if you’d like

 

Leave a Reply

